Speech and Language Services

Tabs

Articulation

Articulation is the production of speech sounds. If your child has difficulty with articulation, perhaps their speech is hard for others to understand. They may drop sounds, substitute sounds, or distort sounds.


Do you want to know how if your child has the sounds they should for their age? - Check out this link: https://www.asha.org/uploadedFiles/ASHA/Practice_Portal/Clinical_Topics/Late_Language_Emergence/Consonant-Acquisition-Chart.pdf



Language

vmumu6km,8i

What is receptive language? Receptive language is how children understand language and how they assign meaning to words. Children who have difficulties with receptive language may have difficulty following directions, understanding simple or complex sentences, vocabulary, word relationships (e.g. shoe and foot go together because you wear a shoe on your foot). Understanding language also includes understanding the differences with basic concepts (e.g. on the table vs. under the table).

What is expressive language? Expressive language is how children put words together to communicate a message. Children who have difficulty with expressive language may have difficulty putting words in order to make a sentences or to ask a question, using correct vocabulary, answering questions, using correct grammar, using describing words, and using basic concepts (e.g. in, on).

What is social (pragmatic) language? Social/Pragmatic language is how a child uses language in a functional way-- with adults, peers, and community members. It also includes conversational skills (e.g. starting a conversation, taking conversational turns, ending a conversation), use of greetings, protesting and refusing, requesting, and commenting. This also includes understanding and using appropriate personal space, tone, and volume for the situation.

In addition to speaking with your pediatrician, you can access expected language skills for multiple age levels here: http://firstyears.org/miles/chart.html


Fluency

What is Fluency? - Fluency refers to how smoothly the child is able to get their words out. Many children demonstrate normal "dysfluencies" as they are learning language and expanding vocabulary. Normal dysfluencies can include using filler words (e.g. uh and umm), fixing a sentence, (e.g. My mom went to, well we had a ..), and phrase repetition (e.g., I want..I want...I want a cookie).

Phonological Awareness

What is phonological awareness? Phonological awareness is the knowledge of sounds in a language and how those sounds blend together to form words, phrases and sentences. Children need to be able to discriminate between sounds to develop reading, spelling, and writing skills. This includes skills such as segmenting sounds, blending sounds, manipulating sounds, rhyming, blending syllables and sentences.

Resources (Parents and Teachers)


ARTICULATION:

Sound Expectation by Age:

https://www.asha.org/uploadedFiles/ASHA/.../Conson...

ArticPix Free (1 sound free) - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/artikpix/id383022107

Articulation Station Free (1 sound free) - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/articulation-station/id467415882
Photo Artic (1 sound free) - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/webber-photo-artic-castle/id555982949
SmallTalk Phonemes - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/smalltalk-phonemes/id384170714
SmallTalk Oral Motor - https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/smalltalk-oral-motor-exercises/id337145605
Speech Sounds on Cue - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/speech-sounds-on-cue-for-ipad/id478653473

COMMUNICATION MILESTONES:

https://www.linguisystems.com/pdf/Milestonesguide....

http://firstyears.org/miles/chart.html

EXPRESSIVE LANGUAGE:

Sentence Builder - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sentencebuilder-for-ipad/id364197515
My Play Home - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/my-playhome/id439628153
Sequencing with Milo - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/speech-with-milo-sequencing/id431803095
Sequences by EdNinja - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sequences-for-autism/id621733342?mt=8
iSequences App - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/isequences/id506624913
Shake a Phrase - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/shake-phrase-fun-words-sentences/id436414534
First Phrases - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/first-phrases-hd-lite/id460291615
iPractice Verbs - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ipractice-verbs/id356668882
Describe with Art - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/describe-with-art/id622806671?mt=8

RECEPTIVE LANGUAGE:

Fun with Directions - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/fun-with-directions-hd-lite/id478249055
Describe with Art - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/describe-with-art/id622806671?mt=8
What’s in the Bag - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bag-game/id499757601
WH Questions Island - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wh-questions-island/id581786255?mt=8
Splingo’s Language Universe - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/splingos-language-universe/id457526530
Question TherAppy Lite - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/question-therappy-lite/id695431021?mt=8

VOCABULARY DEVELOPMENT:

What Does Not Belong? - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/what-does-not-belong/id391360129
Opposite Ocean - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/opposite-ocean-antonyms/id443213664?mt=8
Kids Vocab - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kids-vocab-mindsnacks/id582128594?mt=8
Vocabulary Catcher - http://ipadapps4school.com/2013/01/21/vocabulary-catcher-a-series-of-free-vocabulary-apps-for-ipad/
BitsBoard - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bitsboard-education-games/id516842210
PCS Memory App - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pcs-memory/id453918994

SOCIAL LANGUAGE:

FriendMaker Social Skills App for Older Children - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/friendmaker/id704606893
Just My Friend and Me - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/just-my-friend-me-little-critter/id648624928
Between the Lines - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/between-the-lines-level-1/id580778000?mt=8
Social Talks - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/social-talks/id595077452?mt=8
Emotion Cards - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/emotion-cards/id503588307
Expressions my EdNinja - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/expressions-for-autism/id591548949?mt=8
Moody Monster Mansion - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/moody-monster-manor-hd/id424489891
Conversation Cards - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/conversation-cards/id424450233
Social Skill Builder - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/social-skill-builder-lite/id486116417?mt=8


Voice

A speech therapist can help a student who has voice issues including: harshness, hoarseness, breathiness, or difficulty with volume control.