Teaching, Learning & Innovation


Griswold Public Schools has reimagined the curriculum department to become the Department of Teaching, Learning & Innovation. The new department is designed to better serve teachers and students in the age of technology. 

Curriculum Philosophy

The department is incorporating technology for more engaged learning, for revisions to the curriculum, for reviewing data for targeted instruction, and for integrating social and emotional learning into the curriculum for all students.


District Goals:

1: Social and Emotional Learning

Griswold Public Schools commits to the advancement of social and emotional competencies in inclusive and equitable learning environments so that all of our students can grow and thrive.

For Griswold Middle School, CREW supports SEL.

For Griswold High School, the Advisory Program supports the social, emotional, and academic development of each student by providing ongoing interaction with an adult advisor through discussion and planned activities in a small-group setting. 

2: Blended and Personalized Learning

Griswold Public Schools will focus on promoting the implementation and expansion of Blended and Personalized Learning in all PreK -12 learning environments.

Blending learning is a learner-centered approach to instruction that combines face-to-face and online learning opportunities to meet student needs and support student choice.

3: Research-Based Instruction

Griswold Public Schools will explore and implement research-based Tier 1 instruction to improve outcomes for all Griswold students. Tier 1 is the core curriculum that is typically aligned with state standards.


TLI Resources 


TLI Staff Resources Website Link (GPS Google account login required to access)




AI Resources for Education 


TLI Team

Glenn LaBossiere, Assistant Superintendent / TLI Director,

Jessica Gillespie, TLI Coordinator,

Patricia Feeney, TLI Coordinator,


Standardized Testing

All GPS students take part in standardized testing consisting of Connecticut, National, and District. These tests include:

  • Connecticut Smarter Balanced Assessment (SBAC) for grades 3-8
  • AimswebPlus testing monitors progress in reading and math; this assessment is typically administered 3 times per year for grades K-9, with additional progress monitoring for selected students
  • Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for grades 5, 8, and 11
  • English Language Proficiency (EL-LAS Links) for English Language Learners in grades PreK-12
  • Connecticut Physical Fitness Assessment for grades 4, 6, 8, and high school
  • PSAT/SAT for grades 9-12 (SAT required for grade 11)
  • ACT admissions test (optional for grades 11 and 12)
  • Seal of Biliteracy Test for Spanish Speaking Certification (optional for bilingual speakers in grades 11 and 12)
  • AP Testing for Advanced Placement high school students
  • Midterm and Final Exams

Additional assessments at teacher discretion.